"One of the most disrespectful unconcerned..."

About: Newham General Hospital

Ok so 37 weeks + and I haven't gone into labour yet, but this being my third pregnany and very different to my others (as i already know all pregnancies are) Ive been quite concerned about some unusual symptoms for me that I've been experiencing . When i phoned up Newham maternity ward to speak to a midwife for some helpful adivise (as told to specifically do so when attending my antenatal appointments at barking hospital ) I was confronted with such a rude ,unconcerned ,abrupt midwife on the phone that I felt quite alarmed and so put off now to even go to this hospital now! First impressions really do count.

Many people In my family have suffered from pre enclampsia or liver problems during pregnancies , so when recently (last 4 weeks) Ive been getting itchy feet, headaches ,vomiting all of a sudden swollen legs and feet and hands I decided to ring the midwife for advice. I never thought I would hear what I did from a midwife!

As I was telling her my concerns they abruptly interrupted me and said to me as if I was taking up their time 'woman your telling me 4 5 different things what is your concern right now, what are you most concerned about because your telling me too many things!'. I was gobsmacked!

How rude and disgusting is it to talk to a pregnant woman who has concerns about her baby at an emotional and physically stressful time ! I told her the reason I phoned was because of all the symptoms (wouldn't have bothered to phone if i just had a headache or if I was just sick). In the end this midwife was totally not bothered, they just said it was up to me and the only thing they will do is take a blood test and it was down to me. Well I wasn't asking them to perform a miracle a blood test would've been fine but the way they were talking was as if I was causing an inconvenience!

In the end I didn't even end up going which may have been a mistake but this is how nurses and hospital staff make you feel these day unfortunately!

And this is when serious mistakes happen !! No wonder this hospital has had some of the worst reviews and been In the media!! This hospital seriously need to look and train who they employ and bed side manners. This was just what happened when I made a phone call can you imagine what you'd actually be treated like if we're there and in labour!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newham General Hospital

We are very sorry to read of your experience during your time in the maternity unit, and of the concerns you have raised here. We are sorry that the staff was rude to you – this is not acceptable and we apologise for this.

We would like to speak with you about the concerns you have raised here so that we are able to understand and investigate what happened and offer you appropriate care. To do this we ask if you could contact us with your personal information and more detail about your visit. Please contact the PALS Team on 020 3594 2040 or by email: pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful