"left without contact for 8 weeks"

About: Ealing IAPT

I came in for a session about 6 weeks ago now where I was told I'd be receiving a call or email in 8 weeks time from Rise, which deals with addiction of alcohol or drugs. I've tried calling IAPT just to speak to the person that saw me 8 times since I went in and have left 8 messages, not a single phone call has been made back. I also tried emailing the address on their page and got an automated reply telling me that it couldn't send. To leave someone in my position with no contact at all for 8 weeks is reckless and stupid. I would've appreciated at least a returned phone call. I tried IAPT a year or so ago and was left in the dark with no contact before, and when i told them that this time round I was assured it wouldn't happen again, but it has. I'm very upset and angry about it because i feel like they couldand should have done a lot better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Josef Landsberg, Clinical Lead IAPT, West London Mental Health NHS Trust

Dear Mr Crocker

Firstly, let me apologise for the difficulties you are experiencing in getting through to the right person in Ealing IAPT, and additionally for making you feel upset and angry. We certainly never intend for either of those scenarios to be the case, however the second is often the bi-product of the other.

We always try our hardest where possible to reach people in a timely manner and as a service we will be looking into the process that might have contributed to you not being responded to. All of our patients are important to us and minimising distress is a high priority for us. As a service we will do whatever we can to ensure this does not happen in the future.

We also recognise that all of our patients want to be seen in a reasonable timeframe and therefore we comply with the national waiting times standards for IAPT services set by NHS England.

Moving forward with your particular case, it appears that there may have been a misunderstanding at first glance. I would very much like to get to the bottom of what went wrong here. I will endeavour to get in touch with you personally but you can also contact me directly by email (j.landsberg@nhs.net ) or telephone (020 3313 5661).

Yours sincerely,

Josef Landsberg

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful