"Let Down & Dissapointed"

About: University Hospital (Coventry)

Given the importance of my IVF treatment under gone over the last year I have had hurdles of cysts on my ovaries, scaring tissue on my tube and now a folic on my womb. After going through all injections the last few weeks then yesterday having an egg collection. To get a phone call this morning to say that my embryos have been knocked over the lab. This is not acceptable when you have longed for a child to be told you have gone through the last year for some ones obvious lack of concentration is discussing. Just to be told you are sorry although this is fine. I don't think you realise unless you struggle or have issues in your fertility you have no idea how much of strain and worry it has on peoples lives. To sit there smiling at me just does not justify the hurt you have caused. I have now got to wait a further 14 weeks before I can have the polic removed before having to go through injections. again I do not have a problem with going through this again but to be told I have to wait another 14 weeks to go through this all again is disgusting. Maybe if theire are cancellations but I doubt that very much, I feel let down and deeply sadden that this person who has knocked my embryo's is still doing there job in the hospital while I sit saddened by this disappointment. offering counselling I not going to help the lack of confidence I now have in the hospital. Having gone through the last 4 years of incorrect blood test results being given to me incorrect diagnosis of having a bad back when in fact I had kidney stones, waiting in a doctors surgery to then be forgotten about after waiting for 3 hours to be told doctor had then gone home. As you can see this has all come to this point. This probably wont make any difference and will most probably be put to one side and I will just be forgotten about. This is now how you make me feel like I have lost confideance in an NHS system that is suppose to be one of the best.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital (Coventry)

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on NHS Choices.

First and foremost, we are sorry for the distress and hurt you have been caused.

While we appreciate it does not detract from your distress we are pleased that you have spoken to our Head of Embryology who arranged for your procedure to be prioritised and that you accepted our offer of a free additional cycle of IVF.

This incident was taken extremely seriously and we reported it to the regulatory body, the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority who are satisfied that we have taken the satisfactory steps to help prevent the same mistake happening again.

I can only apologise again and assure you that our centre has an excellent national reputation, with one of the best success rates in the country.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful