"double / triple booked appointments"

About: Pilgrim Hospital / Clinical haematology

(as the patient),

I had a 9am outpatient appointment, arrived at hospital at 8: 30am nice and early, booked in on self service booking in screen, found waiting area, I was 1st there, had my blood pressure and weight taken at approx 8: 45am.

9: 50am comes and 3 or 4 other patients have been seen so I ask a nurse what's happening, only to be informed most appointments have been double and triple booked! (Not impressed with that but was polite)

Saw Dr and then went off to have bloods taken,

On arrival the waiting room was full and queue was slow going down due to only one nurse there to take blood samples, eventually another nurse came to help and the queue reduced quicker, plus by now some patients had left possibly due to couldn't wait, u was there for approx 1hr,

In total 3. 5hrs at hospital for something id of believed would of taken no longer than 2hrs,

I had to reschedule all my afternoon work appointments that day!

P. s all the staff where polite and answered any questions I had.

Poor planning with administrators

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

Dear dirtbiker

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on the Patient Opinion website, following your recent appointment in the Outpatients Department.

As a department we are fully committed to improving patient experience and we are very sorry that your appointment took far longer than you, or we, would have expected.

We have previously had feedback regarding the waiting times and delays on this clinic, and I would like to assure you that action was taken, particularly around appointment times, to reduce/avoid delays wherever possible. Whilst I am confident that improvements have been made, we value your feedback, which clearly demonstrates there is further work to be done. We will continue our efforts to address this.

I am very pleased to hear that all staff were polite and helpful, and will pass these kind comments onto our staff.

With Kind Regards

Beverley Duncan, Outpatients Sister, Pilgrim Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear dirtbiker

I would first like to say that I am extremely sorry you have had reason to complain about the service you received whilst in our care, but I would also like to thank you for raising these concerns, I know you will not have done so lightly and your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I would like to apologise for the delay in waiting for your blood to be taken, unfortunately due to staff shortages through sickness and leave only one member of staff available for the phlebotomy (blood) clinic that morning until the ward rounds had been completed. We were then able to have two phlebotomists (staff who take the blood) working to reduce the queue.

I am very pleased to hear that our staff were polite and helpful in answering any queries you had. I would like to once again apologise for your experience and give you my assurance that we have taken your concerns on board and learned from them.

Kind Regards

James Cragg
Blood Transfusion Laboratory Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful