"Awful experience trying to get my knee injury diagnosed"

About: Bassetlaw Hospital / Accident and emergency Bassetlaw Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

After falling down a flight of stairs , I had swelling and couldn't bend or straighten my knee. I called the 111 service the morning after to get some advice on what I should do regards my injury; I was told to self medicate and rest it, after four days my knee had not decreased in swelling- so I attempted to make an appointment with my GP. My GP was booked up until the week after, since my GP failed I decided to go up to the walk-in centre, where I waited an hour to be seen by a very rude doctor who didn't even look at my knee and told me to go straight up at A&E for an X-ray. I was told they’d send a letter up with me to give to the triage nurse, which actually turned out to be a print off of my medical history and not an X-ray card.

After arriving at A&E I was seen quickly by the triage nurse who was not impressed that the Doctor at the walk in had sent me straight up to A&E without an X-ray card. The doctor I saw in A&E sent me straight down for an X-ray, but the X-ray came back non conclusive, and again this doctor didn't thoroughly check my knee, she just wrapped it in a dressing, gave me some crutches and referred me to the orthopedic and fracture clinic.

This is where the real problems began, I arrived for my appointment at the orthopedic clinic, my appointment ran late, I do understand it's a very busy clinic and there is a lot of patients to see, but my appointment was half and hour late. Eventually I was shown the room where I'd be seeing the doctor, and AGAIN, my leg was not looked at. I was referred straight away for an MRI scan without any explanation of what could possibly be wrong with my knee, it was very difficult to ask any questions to the doctor too, as he was mostly in the room next door. As I said earlier, I understand the clinic is busy, but I at least expected the doctor to spend my appointment time with me, not between patients, which he quite obviously was. I asked him if I should keep my knee support on it, he didn't really have an answer. I asked him what he thought it could be, again, he didn't have an answer. The doctor signed me off work for 4 weeks with no explanation as to why it was so long off of work.

I'm still waiting for my MRI scan, but I am thoroughly disappointed by the way I've been treated thus far, I do not feel cared for. I feel as though no one has wanted to deal with me or spend any time actually trying to make me any better. I'm still in absolute agony with my knee and I've not even been offered any pain relief after I've told three health care professionals now that paracetamol aren't helping the pain and I cannot take Ibuprofen due to asthma.

I am not happy with how I've been dealt with through Bassetlaw Hospital and I am not looking forward to going back for my MRI scan and carrying on treatment.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gill Pickersgill, Communications & Engagement Officer, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to Bassetlaw Hospital. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience in A & E and the Orthopaedic Clinic.

We pride ourselves on the high quality of care delivered by our staff and are disappointed that this was not the case in your situation.

I understand you have been in contact with our Patient Experience Team who are investigating this matter on your behalf.

Once again thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience.



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful