"No confidentiality and reluctant to feed you"

About: Rivers Hospital

I recently went in for a procedure for day care. I shared a room with another patient. I was asked personal questions about any previous surgery and as I felt embarrassed talking about this in front of the other patient, I didn't reveal all. Pulling a curtain across and then asking me loudly from the bottom of the bed so that all can hear, does not constitute privacy. As I happened to know the person I shared a room with, it was even more embarrassing to discuss these things. Not good. The procedure was carried out under sedation. It was early in the morning and the procedure was finished within 15 minutes.

I was given tea and toast at 9am and expected to leave soon after. The nurses stood me up to ensure I could walk, but one of my legs was still numb and affected by the anaesthetic and gave way,, so I was told to go back to bed with "the anaesthetic may last from 6-12 hours". (I was later told that the anaesthetic might last up to 48 hours). We tried again a few hours later and still my leg gave way. At 2.45pm almost six hours later, my leg was still numb and I was not allowed to leave. I asked if I'd missed lunch. I was told by the sister to buy a sandwich from the canteen! I said that as I couldn't walk and I didn't bring money with me, it would be a bit difficult.

I also pointed out that it had been almost six hours since the toast.

I was embarrassed that I'd had to ask for food, but also hungry. The nurse said that I would usually be gone by then so they didn't have to feed me. As they wouldn't let me leave as my leg was still numb, I was in a catch 22 situation. The nurse very reluctantly said they would ask catering to come to see me but I could only have a sandwich. Catering came and said again that I was only allowed a sandwich and gave me a choice. What a fuss! Lastly, my leg continued to be numb and an hour later I was still unable to stand up and walk so the sister said I should leave but insisted I went in a wheelchair to the front of the hospital and I was helped into the car. I was glad to leave at that point as I thought dinner would looming. Appalling.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rivers Hospital

I am so sorry to hear of your experience at Rivers. Patient confidentiality is very important to us and I am sorry to hear that, on this occasion, we did not reach our, normally high, standards. We do need to look into this and why you experienced these issues (lack of privacy, delay and lack of food). We receive many compliments about our service here at Rivers and it is unusual for someone to have experienced the problems you have encountered. So that we can investigate this fully, please can you e-mail your contact details to me as soon as possible and our General Manager will carry out an investigation and will be in touch with you.

Please email me on Christine.scott@ramsayhealth.co.uk. I look forward to hearing from you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful