"Special Urinary treatment"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

The pre-op test were carried out efficiently and with courtesy a couple of weeks ago. The day before the operation I was asked to call and confirm and receive an admittance time. The number was not answered, I phoned my consultants secretary and they organised admissions to call me. On the day of admission attendants were well organised into groups and moved to the relevant sites in the hospital. I am told the operation was a total success but at some time during the procedure/aftercare, my left cornea was badly scratched according a specialist who visited from the eye hospital. The only pain control I need was for my eye and my vision in my left eye was milky and blurred and still is. My consultant said I could go home at the end of the second day but charged their opinion and asked me to say overnight and drink large amount to test the kidney which I agreed to do.

The following morning a stand in consultant confirm all was well and order the cathiter to be removed and I was to be released. At 1300hrs three people in a 5 bed unit were dressed and ready to go. I asked for my prescription and antibiotic drugs which had during this morning been locked in the personal drug cabinet and was refused because the paperwork had completed

I left when my wife arrived to collect me as she is a healthcare worker and could not wait any longer or would she would miss a working shift.

The ward staff nurse and the matron called me at home arranged to get the medication to me (some 28 miles)

The problem was in my opinion exacerbated by different levels of staff not working as a team. Apart from my eye injury the medical care was very good. My nearest relative with any transport lives in Northamptonshire. around 400 mile round trip

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. We're very grateful that you felt the medical care you were provided was very good, but apologise for any inconveniences you experienced during your treatment. If you could contact our Help and Advice Service on 0191 569 9855 or Freephone 08005876513 or at Helpandadviceservice@chsft.nhs.uk, we would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more depth about this and address any concerns you have.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful