"Orthroscopy Wed 27 July 2016"

About: BMI the Edgbaston Hospital

Had my operation here on Weds 27 July. Absolutely appalling patient care and looking after my well being.

I was extremely ill with the anaesthetic and spent most of the day feeling sick.

It was quite obvious I was not well. However nurses did not seem bothered or concerned.

Cutting a long story short as I'm putting in a formal complaint... despite me vomiting and having an extremely high temperature the staff nurse was more concerned that their shift was finishing and I had still not been discharged.

The staff nurse brought the discharge papers and medication put them on the table and left me to it.

I ended up having to stay over night.

After three lots of sickness tablets I began to feel better late in the evening.

The resident doctor made me feel like I was inconveniencing them and it was only when I threatened to discharge myself they began to take me seriously.

Harborne ward shame on you.

Never again.

Disgusting. I would have received better treatment on the NHS.

I shall also be ensuring my insurers are aware.

I did not see my consultant after the surgery.

One nurse advised I had a full repair to my knee then we were advised it was a partial repair. I was supposed to have a steroid injection in my big toe... Nothing was said about this so I've no idea whether this happened or not. Would definitely not recommend this hospital.

Staff are rude and abrupt and need lessons in customer care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from BMI the Edgbaston Hospital

We are sorry to hear of the experience you have outlined in relation to your treatment at BMI Edgbaston Hospital, it is our intention to always offer our patients the highest standards of care. Given the concerns you have raised identify issues that are contrary to our normal standards of care I would ask you to contact us to discuss your experience in detail to allow us to investigate this matter fully with the nursing team and your consultant.

Please contact myself as the Director of Clinical Services for the Hospital on 0121 452 2817 to arrange to discuss this matter on an individual basis.

Best Regards

Sam Tolliday

Director of Clinical Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful