"horrendous experience"

About: Rosie Hospital

I've just had my second little girl at the Rosie and the labour and aftercare were absolutely awful, it was one mistake after another, it took 17 hours of agonising contractions and me being told to repeatedly go home until my waters had broken before I had to demand someone see me and I was in labour, and my waters had gone in the days before without realising, my daughter came out after just a few pushes with bloody scratches all over her head where the sharp tool used to break my non existent waters had just scratched her head to bits and left her distressed. I was then wheeled to the lady Mary ward which was horrendous, I sat for an hour after being wheeled in from recovery unable to move from the epidural, the midwife station was right in front of me with 4 midwives standing chatting while I pressed my buzzer it took them an hour to come to me. The four days I was there they were always in the reception talking and even at one stage booking their holidays whilst mothers laid in their beds crying and buzzing for help. I was absolutely shocked at how badly run and cruel this ward was and I would never ever want to be in here again. Awful birth experience from start to finish.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rosie Hospital

I am very sorry to learn that you had such a distressing experience during the birth of your daughter and afterwards on the Lady Mary Ward.

Your description certainly does not reflect the standards which we aim to achieve.

I do hope that you and your daughter are now doing well.

I realise you must be busy, but if you have time to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01223 216756 or email pals@addenbrookes.nhs.uk we would be pleased to look into the concerns you have raised and respond to you personally.

In the meantime, I have passed your comments to senior staff at The Rosie.

All feedback received by the Trust enables us to examine our processes in order to make improvements, so we are very grateful for your comments.

Complaints and PALS Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful