"In a word....dire!"

About: Royal Berkshire Hospital

I am writing this review whilst still at the hospital.My girlfriends waters broke over 62 hours ago and we are still waiting to go into the delivery suite!We rang the hospital once her waters broke and were told that she had to come into the hospital as if she didn't start having contractions within 24 hours they would induce her.The wait goes on!We have not had any communication from the staff and the only information we gained was when we enquired ourselves!We have been told there are no midwives available which for a maternity ward is unacceptable......and as for the hospital food my girlfriend is supposed to be eating...it can hardly be called food.Our next child will not be born at this hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Berkshire Hospital

We are very sorry to hear of your recent experiences of maternity services but thank you for feeding back to us.

Our aim is to induce women after 24 hours if they have ruptured membranes and if they do not go into labour spontaneously. When there are delays in the induction either due to an increased number of women on the Delivery Suite or if we are not able to provide a midwife for 1:1 care for women being induced, we should keep women and their partners updated and we apologise if this was not the case.

It is however difficult to give a definite time on when the induction can proceed due the unpredictable nature of the demand on our service. On 28th July the Delivery Suite was particularly busy which did cause some delays for women being induced.

We are sorry that you experienced delays and that we did not communicate effectively with you and your partner. We have reviewed our induction of labour pathway and will be introducing some changes which will reduce delays and therefore improve experiences.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful