"Found it truly grim at Ambulatory "Care" unit"

About: Peterborough City Hospital

(as the patient),

Struggling to recount this after another messed up, seemingly incompetent attempted canula insertion. As usual in my experience, staff seem unsure of how to do the procedure. They don't have the right supplies available, so have to disappear looking for correct needles. once started, very painful poking and pushing of needle multiple times. Arm is very bruised, so much so that complete stranger stops me on street 3 days later to ask if I am ok and What's wrong with your arms they ask? Do you need to see a doctor? Are you okay?. No I am not. Totally messed up yet again. It feels like they make you sick on ACU, worse than the original disease.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lesley Crosby, Deputy Chief Nurse, Peterborough and Stamford Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

I am so sorry to hear about your experience but I believe that you have raised these issues as a formal complaint and we, as a Trust, have responded in full to the concerns you raised. The Trust has been open and honest with you in respect to responding to the concerns you have raised about your care on ACU. We have also acknowledged the issues you have raised when you have posted previously on NHS Choices and Patient Opinion.

Your care, I believe, was transferred to another department in the hospital when it was clear the relationship between yourself and ACU had broken down. We are sorry for the issues you have experienced and as you are aware we have recently carried out a survey for patients attending the ACU with the same condition as yourself and it is clear that the patients who took part in the survey did not experience any of the problems that you had. It is regrettable that you did experience so many issues but I hope that you are reassured that the majority of patients do not have the same problems and further more you are reassured by the changes we have made and shared with you.

Going forward now you care has been moved to another department I hope that you can concentrate on the care you receive there and accept our apologies again for the problems you encountered on ACU.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful