"Very poor service"

About: Didcot Community Hospital

I didn't actually manage to see a Physio as they were on sick leave, however, I had to sit in the waiting room for 20 minutes before anyone bothered to tell me. I had arrived early because I thought that I might have to complete some paperwork. There was a notice saying that there wasn't a physio receptionist on duty but I should take a seat and someone would come and call me. I didn't immediately see the notice due to its positioning so I stood by the reception area for a few moments wondering why the receptionist was ignoring me. As I saw the notice the person in the reception area spoke to me - without turning to look at me - and asked me if I was there for physio or podiatry. I told them physio and they said go and sit down and wait for someone to call me. In other words, they noted that I was there! Some five minutes after my appointment time, someone came out and called in another patient. A few moments later the receptionist called across to me to ask what time my appointment should have been. I replied and they then said that they would check on the computer. The receptionist then told me that the person I had booked with was off sick and someone had tried to contact me to tell me not to come. As I had not received a phone call on my mobile or a text message, I got them to confirm the numbers recorded. They were correct. The most annoying part of all this is that I had to sit in the waiting area for 20 minutes before anyone bothered to tell me. The fact that I had to take a wasted hour and a half off work is secondary.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Didcot Community Hospital

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback with regards to your experience at the Physiotherapy Department at Didcot Community Hospital.

Secondly, I am really sorry to read that you were not notified in advance that your appointment had to be cancelled due to the physiotherapist being unwell and you had a poor experience with the reception staff.

I will make the manager of the service aware of your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact PALS (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) on 0800 328 7971 if you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful