"such a sad state of affairs"

About: Dorset County Hospital

What a shame that the whole of DCH gets labelled poor all because of some poorly run departments and wards. 33 weeks and more waiting for a cataract op. all because someone never made the appointment when they should have. Will they accept responsibility no are they bothered no are they trying to correct it no, how ever they are good at dodging the issues, going into great details explaining what the patients problems are ?? and taking over the stated 25 working days they dictate is acceptable for an "investigation". So many people complaining about DCH as a whole, and as stated previously what a shame that wards like ICU, Maud Alexander ,Cancer Dept, A&E on a good shift etc are absolutely brilliant, but they get lost in the bad press.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Dorset County Hospital

I am sorry to read of your experience, from your comments it sounds like you have raised your concerns with the Dorset County Hospital Complaints Department and this is being investigated, if not I urge you to do so on 0800 7838058 or pals@dchft.nhs.uk.

It is kind of you to mention the departments where you have had good experiences and I am sorry this has not been the case for the cataract operation.

Best wishes, Sarah Silverton, Patient & Public Experience Lead, Dorset County Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful