"Counselling & ASD"

About: Florence Street Clinic Sandyford Clinic

(as a parent/guardian),

A family member with ASD suffers from poor mental health. We've pushed for access to counselling services multiple times but he can't attend without support which is difficult to arrange.

Services assume when he cancels that he's unmotivated and take him off their lists leaving him back at the end of a year-long queue. The difficulty of engagement in educational, health and social care services for people with any condition for whom it's not possible to 'just turn up when told' to an office between 9 and 5 must mean so much effort and wasted appointments. In my opinion, this model suits us who work in health & social care. It rarely suits those we support.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nicole McInally, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde


Firstly, can I start by apologising for the delay in responding to your post.

I am sorry to hear that your family member has been unable to attend counselling services, and I understand your feeling that this is because the current appointment system does not always respond to the needs of our patients.

I understand that work is underway within Mental Health Services to look at how missed or cancelled appointments can be managed better which might address some of the concerns you have. I’ll pass your comments to Mental Health Services and they may be able to tell us a bit more about this.

If you or your relative would like more specific information about their individual case, we would need a few more details. Your family member can contact me directly. My email address is Nicole.McInally@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Thank you for taking the time to post on patient opinion.

Kind Regards


  • ASDPRO doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} think it is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story