"The admin department needs a shake-up!"

About: St Bartholomew's Hospital

I came to Barts today to attend my mammogram follow-up appointment, which was booked last year. When I got to the desk on the first floor, after a 90 minute journey, I was told that my appointment had been rescheduled! I had received no letter informing me of this. When I explained that I'd had a long journey & wanted to be seen today, as per my appointment letter, I was told that today was not a family history clinic day so no-one could see me. I was also told that my notes & the results of the mammogram I'd had 6 weeks ago were not available, as they were held outside London & would take 2 days to come to the hospital! I was offered another appointment for next Tuesday. I asked to see an admin manager, as I wanted to complain about this mistake. I was able to see a manager, who did apologise & fortunately for me, was able to get one of the consultants to fit me in for a very brief exam & who was also able to reassure me that my mammogram was normal (whereas I'd been told that my mammogram results could not be accessed!). This consultant told me that I had also been booked in for a radiology appointment in December (which is for people who have cancer) Thank God my mammogram & exam today showed that I do not have breast cancer & I feel very fortunate, but am very unimpressed that these two booking mistakes have been made. However, thanks very much to the manager who made the effort to see me & who managed to get me seen by the consultant & grateful thanks to the consultant who took time out of her very busy breast cancer clinic to fit me in for an examination.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Bartholomew's Hospital

We are very sorry that you did not receive the letter rearranging your clinic appointment and do understand the frustration this must have caused.

Our patient notes are stored within an offsite facility and, as the clinic you were due to attend had been cancelled, these had not been ordered to be present on site; mammogram results can be accessed electronically and so are available immediately.

We are glad to hear that staff on the day were able to make arrangements so that you did not have a wasted journey and Mr Ahmed, our manager for the service will be taking forward the concerns you have raised.

If you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail please do contact our governance team at St Bartholomew’s on 0203 765 8868.

Kind regards,

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful