"Drop in service"

Arrived at 11am only to be told that there were no more appointments left!! Advertised 9am-1pm so presumed I could "drop in" between these times!! This is not the case it is run on appointments only. Very poor service

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newcroft Centre

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our Newcastle’s Integrated Sexual Health Services, we are sorry hear about your negative experiences of attending this facility.

We apologise that we were not able to see you on the day that you attended. The walk-in sessions are on a first come - first served basis and as the number of people we see will vary each day, if the queue and wait session is full there is a possibility that you will not be seen and we would advise that you can either attend our next queue and wait session, or make an appointment.

From the comments you have posted we now intend to update the written information brochure about our services to include a statement concerning the variable attendance levels and possibility of not being seen on our busier days with no appointment and reflect the information currently available on our website. In addition, the manager of the receptionist team will provide further training to staff to enable them to explain the situation more fully to service users when the ‘queue and wait’ walk-in session has reached maximum capacity.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful