About: Peterborough City Hospital

I have been waiting about 5 months to see dermatologist and that was quick appointment as opted to travel to Stamford. Very pleasant nurse greeted me and waiting time was next to none. However, when I went to see consultant I was for a biggest shock of my life. I was basically told that I am wasting their time. I suffer for the last 12 years from psoriatic arthritis and my psoriasis was always well controlled but in the last year got really bad. My legs are covered in big patches and the rest of my body is also affected. My rheumatologist written to my GP and asked for referral to dermatologist as they felt I should be seen by one. Rheumatologist put me on medication and that is working already but I did not expected to be humiliated. They did not ask me relevant questions, they did not see any of my affected areas and decided that I am not really in need of seeing consultant. Why does NHS employ such people? No manners, no interest in patient but possibly in NHS salary only. Should they try to earn their living by working in the factory and then they would value their work and treat their patients with respect. Very disappointed patient.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Peterborough City Hospital

I am so sorry to hear about your experience and I am obviously concerned about the comments you have posted. We want to ensure all of our patients receive good quality care and I am disappointed that, from what you have told us, this appears not to have happened in your case.

If you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on (01733) 673405. Once again my apologies that your visit was not as you had hoped it would be.


Lesley Crosby

Deputy Chief Nurse

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful