"care in hospital 3 nights"

About: Cheltenham General Hospital

GP referred to ED. Very good service in ED - efficient, personable and treatment timely and well received from all members of medical team.

Moved to ward and then service went down hill.

Drs had to constantly be paged before coming to ward for assessment - had to wait over 3 hours before being seen. Delay meant scan recommended by the dr couldn't be done that day so had to stay overnight.

In fact due to weekend then the delay meant scan couldn't be done until the afternoon of the 4th day in hospital when realistically could have been discharged on Saturday if the scan had been done on the Friday!

Waste of time and cost and blocked bed!

No communication on when can be discharged on last day, who does it and what the procedure is so waiting waiting and waiting - again blocking bed that could be freed up! need better communication on procedures for discharge and earlier discharge - totally unacceptable to be waiting until evening before getting any understanding of what is happening!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cheltenham General Hospital

Hello there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this feedback with us. Sorry to hear about your experience in general surgery, we will certainly pass your comments on to the staff there. If you haven't already done so it would be good if you could get in touch with our patient liaison (PALS) team who can take a few more details from you and investigate the concerns you have raised further. You can call PALS on 0800 019 3282 (Free phone) or email pals.gloucestershirehospitals@glos.nhs.uk

Best wishes

The team at Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful