"Disappointed and upset"

About: Wharfedale Hospital

I was referred for an urgent ultrasound by my gp. When I was contacted by radiology to make the appointment I stressed that I would have my 4 week old baby with me. This was checked and confirmed that it would be fine. I arrived for for my appointment today and was told that due to having my fast asleep 4 week old baby with me the sonographer was refusing to scan me as he was a distraction! I have had numerous pregnancy scans at Wharfedale and found that the sonographers are competent enough to hold a conversation and carry out an anomaly scan on a foetus. How much of a distraction can a sleeping baby be? I have to stress that I was referred for the scan urgently by my gp and have been turned away by radiology with no solution proposed as I have no one I can leave my newborn baby with.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read of the poor experience you had whilst in our care.

I would happy to look into the matters you have raised, however, there is not enough information included in your post for me to investigate further, I would therefore ask that you contact our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS).

This would allow us look into the matters you have raised and contact the relevant management to see why there has been a delay. This would also allow us to see what lessons we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful