About: Langley Green Hospital

I spent just over a week in this hell hole to help with my depression, made my depression worse. Stayed in Opal ward for the elderly I'm 42. Not that was the problem met two lovely ladies in their 70s we were there for each other as staff did not bother helping. One of the women suffered anxiety and was really worried about the tablets she was given which made her worse when one morning was given wrong one so the woman told the nurse to which the reply was 'don't go telling everyone about it, this is my livelyhood' so you can imagine the state the patient was in after that! Also she was shouted at for knocking on another patients door to see if the person inside wanted to come out of her room for a walk.The other woman had severe depression and at one point almost fell from chair in dining room to which a member of staff shouted to her 'what you doing, get up now' The other patients just sat around all day bored stiff, ignored if they needed anything. They could not have tea, coffee from the patient kitchen as the staff keep it locked in office so you had to ask for a teabag etc. Another patient asked staff to let her into her room as she needed to go to loo but was ignored so she went outside in garden. Another patient was sent home and on leaving they couldn't find his mobile charger, his wife was discusted with the that and also the fact he was being discharged in a worse state than when he went in. My god so much stuff to complain about!!!. I am traumatised by the place. The staff are rude and just spent most of the time chatting and giggling with each other especially about certain patients. As for the two lovely ladies I met in there the anxious one went home and as far as I know the depressed one is still in there and I fear for her. Not a place for anxious or depressed people . Why oh why do they put people like us in places like this anyway, (funding) !!!!! As for the ward itself prob same on all the wards at this horrid place they call hospital, I think the place should have another cqc inspection on how patients and the way the whole place is run, I feel ill thinking about my experience and the poor patients in there being treated so awful. Oh and they couldn't find my phone charger when I was discharged so just gave me one from a box. My advice do not ever let your loved ones ever be put into such a nasty place. I never complain about anything usually but I feel so strongly I have to leave this for you to read. So much more horrible things to write but feel so upset I can't carry on.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Langley Green Hospital

Dear concerned ex-patient, I am sorry your experience on Opal Ward wasn’t not a positive one.

As a Manager in the hospital receiving feedback on the care we provide and the environment it is provided in is important to us and is very welcomed.

The nature of the concerns you have raised are very worrying and, if you are willing, I would like to arrange to meet with you to discuss the issues you raised and any other issues you felt unable to raise, due to this causing you some considerable upset.

Please contact my PA Judy Lee on 01403 223243 who will arrange for us to meet or have a telephone conversation.

Kind regards

Beverly Baldwin

Deputy Director - North West Sussex Mental Health Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful