About: Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

(as the patient),

What I liked


What could be improved

Personal care, attention to what I was describing of what was happening, i.e. clearly miscarrying and treated as a tummy infection despite two positive pregnancy tests. Doctor did not believe as hormone test showed no pregnancy hormone at this stage. GP later explained that the pregnancy would have terminated days earlier and therefore no hormone present. Was not scanned, had ridiculous pain and was sent home in pain, bleeding excessively expected to get taxi off own back at 6am in pyjamas that were covered in blood. Had to ask for sanitary wear and a blanket. The most humiliating and upsetting experience. Did make a complaint simply to ask for improvements to be made so nobody else would go through this. Just the most awful night.

Anything else?

Have no confidence in HRI and have since had my first baby but opted for Calderdale as so nervous about care in HRI.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

We are sorry to hear of your concerns about the care you received when you visited the hospital and would like to find out more so that we can look into the issues you have raised in more detail. We have a Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) which aims to help when people need advice or have concerns. The service can be contacted on 01484 342128 or by e-mail pals@cht.nhs.uk if you think it would be helpful for you to talk to someone about the issues you have raised.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful