"Changes to Scheduled Appointments 11 Month Delay"

About: Gartnavel General Hospital / Diabetes Clinic/Centre

(as a parent/guardian),

My son is Type 1 diabetic attempting to live a fulfilling life and work full time. He had an appointment for his six month review scheduled for January 2016. We were then informed by letter that this had to be re- scheduled to April 2016, no explanation was given. This appointment has now been re- scheduled again to December 2016, nearly a year out from the original appointment. I think this is completely unacceptable, and does not accord with NICE guidelines on treatment support for Type 1 diabetics, does not support a young man who wishes to be a productive member of our society and much more. There has been no contact from his DSN during this time to check he was.

We also cannot understand why all appointments are during standard working hours. Is it not possible for there to be evening appointments one day a week?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear Linc

Thank you for taking the time to post on Patient Opinion. I am sorry to read about the delays for your son's appointment and I would like to look into this further for him.

This must be frustrating for both you and your son to have his six month review appointment delayed for so long. However, due to patient confidentiality, would you ask your son to contact me at Lisa.Ramsay@ggc.scot.nhs.uk with some personal details.

Best wishes

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful