"Antenatal Classes"

About: Princess Anne Hospital

I am currently 35 weeks pregnant with my first baby, and have been to Princess Anne for antenatal classes.

I felt very fortunate to be offered 5 weeks of classes as well as a separate class for breastfeeding.

The 5 week course was incredibly unstructured and felt often like there was too much time for the content that was delivered. My main reason for writing this review however is on 2 occasions ( the 4th week and breastfeeding class), I have been to the class to find that the midwife that was meant to be taking the class forgot to turn up/or didn't turn up.

On the first occasion we called the number on the letter to find out what was going on but to no success. Most of us waited 45 minutes before deciding to go home.

The 2nd and more recent occurrence of this was the breast feeding class... again sat round for no midwife to show up.

We rang the number and they tried to find out what was going on. This time only having to wait 25 minutes to find out that there wasn't anyone to take the class. I understand that these classes are free but I am incredibly disappointed at the time that has been wasted, and to happen twice is just unacceptable!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Anne Hospital

We were so sorry to learn that two of the anteclasses you were offered did not take place and that those you did attend you found unstructured and could have been shorter.

We will feed your comments back to the department concerned and it would be helpful if you contact our Patient Support Services so that we can find out more detail from you.

This could help inform staff who run the classes about what is helpful to new Mums to include.

We can be contacted on 023 8120 6325.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful