"Under staffed and had to wait too long to be..."

About: Milton Keynes Hospital

I was diagnosed with Crohns just over two years ago. three admissions to hospital and a total of seven weeks on ward 8 this year, I was finally referred to a specialist team at the John Radcliffe in Oxford. 10 days after my admission to the JR I had had surgery and was home recovering. I was flabbergasted at the opportunities to improve my care that were missed, and only after threatening to make a formal complaint did the gastro team get on with it and get me sent to the JR. The nursing and support staff on ward 8 were great,very friendly and supportive and only when I went to the JR did I realise just how under funded and short staffed the ward was.

Because of all the delays I have now used up all most all of my paid sick leave and will soon be on SSP. My wife has also spent a over £200 on parking. I have missed mothers day, fathers day, my wedding anniversary, birthdays , my daughters prom and have not been able to support my elderly parents (my Mum was diagnosed with cancer in January at the same time as my first admission to ward 8. I no longer have any faith in MK hospital and , unless you are healthy enough to advocate for yourself I would not recommend the hospital to anyone.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Milton Keynes Hospital

Hi, we're really sorry about the experience you have had at MKUH and that you've missed out on special days and family events. We'd like to look into the problems you had here at MKUH please could you email our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on PALS@mkhospital.nhs.uk. Thanks, MKUH.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful