"Dire nursing care"

I had 2 nights at the Montifore post op.

I have had many operations in NHS hospitals and this was dire.

The operating staff were second to none but from the time I was in my room I think the service was dire.

Staff had bad soft skills.

Not one smile. All seemed unhappy in their work.

After 9 hours of surgery the nurses forgot to turn on my Express compression machine to stop DVT. In am I realised this and the nurse said it did not matter and then switched it on

Ops first night done by a staff member reading notes.

First morning rang bell as needed painkiller.

No one came to my room for 30 mins.

Nurses failed to notice I had catheter and matron on,y one to empty it when very full

Second morning felt extremely faint and very ill pressed the bell and no one came for 20 minutes.

No one helped make me comfortable int the bed. They forgot I needed eye drops.

I had to ask for the nurse to help me wash my hair which should have been done as a matter of course. Nurse not very gentle or kind. Then I was told to go home before the surgeon came to see me.

I missed them.

I rang and asked why and not only was I spoken to rudely but they just told me that they didn't know the surgeon was coming!! The surgeon had been trying to phone the ward all morning.

I paid a lot of money for sub standard nursing.

I am writing a strong letter of complaint.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Spire Montefiore Hospital

It is important that we gain feedback both positive and constructive, and we would like the opportunity to talk to you directly.

We are disappointed to hear that you feel you have not received the high standard of service we always aim to deliver.

Please email us on montefioreinfo@spirehealthcare.com with contact details, and a member of our management team will be pleased to call you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful