"Reception & Nurses Brilliant, shame about..."

About: West Mendip Community Hospital

I visited as an outpatient to see someone about my shoulder Pain.

I waited nearly 2 months for the appointment only to be pushed back out the door from the consultant within 10 minutes.

When I went in, The consultant asked why I was here, I started to explain, got over talked, then told my doctor was at fault for sending me there as I hadn't tried physio, got told there was no point doing any more than the basic examine as I wouldn't let me arm go floppy enough, forget the pain I was in and how ruff they were pulling my arm around when I'm in shoulder pain.

I'm then told I'm the wrong side of 40 to even consider surgery and the fact that if I lost weight and exercised more and moved my arms properly then I wouldn't have a problem in the first place.

Now had the paperwork through from them (also sent to my doctor!) and surprise surprise it's all my fault and apparently I agreed I lift my arms incorrectly, and I also agreed surgery wasn't best, funny that as I didn't!

They didn't think to mention in their report that they offered a steroid injection and I said no I didn't trust them to do it and they suggested that I get my doctor to do it before physio, funny the paperwork says I just refused a steroid injection!

Now trying to find out how to make an official complaint about the person who examined me, but as per normal they don't make it easy and I will be speaking to the doctor if physio doesn't work and no I won't be going back to this person I'll be using a different hospital and getting a second opinion.

I must say, I've used the A&E here before with my children and they've been brilliant also I couldn't fault the reception or nursing staff, it's just a shame they're so let down by the attitudes of consultants etc.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Mendip Community Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on the NHS Choices website. I am sorry to hear that you have been having troubles with your shoulder and that you have had a bad experience whilst in one of our community hospitals. If you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team on 01278 432 022 or email pals@sompar.nhs.uk we would be happy to investigate this matter.

With kind regards,

The PALS team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful