"A & E Dept Maidstone Hospital 7.30pm Thursday..."

About: Maidstone District General Hospital

I checked in at around 7.20pm with the receptionist having been to London on business.

I explained to the receptionist that I needed Antibiotics to quell what I believed to be an absess under one of my top molars.

I was seen fairly quickly, probably 10 minutes or so by the duty Medic/Nurse

Once again I explained the problem, that I was in pain, that I had booked an appointment with my Dentist next Thursday 7th July at 10.30am and that all I needed was Antibiotics.

It was explained to me, as if I were a child, that the A & E Department did not give out Antibiotics because there could be (I assume theoretically) an instance where the patient will take the Antibiotics, not see her/his Dentist and complications could arise.

I explained I was a qualified Chartered Surveyor (professional) with a modicum of intelligence and that I had booked to see my Dentist as I had indicated to them.

I was offered the telephone number of some emergency Dentist and/or the recommendation I make an earlier appointment with my Dentist. I declined, walked and paid the parking fee. Pain killers were not offered.

This is obviously a case of Health & Safety gone berserk and getting in the way of any sort of patient care. Were I an idiot I might understand their reasoning or their instructions.

I will suffer the pain and never set foot in this Hospital in my life again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maidstone District General Hospital

Dear Mr Lowe, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience of the Emergency Department. Unfortunately, we did not receive notification that your review had been left and we apologise that as a result, we were unable to offer any assistance at the time.

Unfortunately, the Trust does not provide a dental service and therefore, staff were correct in offering you contact details for an emergency dental service.

However, we appreciate your frustration that you felt you were not being allowed to take responsibility for your own health, albeit that the clinical decision not to provide antibiotics was made in order to protect your welfare.

Your comments have been shared with the ED management team for their consideration as part of their regular reappraisal of services.

Kind regards, The PALS Team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful