"I hope I never have to go to St James's"

About: St James's University Hospital

I honestly can't be bothered going into all the details about the numerous issues we have experienced whilst my Grandmother has been hopsitalised at St James's as all that you will do in response is to refer me to the PALS service which is also a waste of time.

What I will say is, from my experience and the experience of my family, the service provided is disgraceful. Staffing levels are inadequate at weekends and yet there is an abundance of staff during the week. Staff do not communicate with each other or with other departments and partners. We have repeatedly been given incorrect information, not contacted to discuss critical issues and not been informed of treatments being undertaken. Several times I have visited my Grandmother, who was severely dehydrated, to find her left with nothing to drink or left with medication to take which she hasn’t taken.

All of this has resulted in a great deal of stress, anxiety and upset for myself, my family and my Grandmother.

I have absolutely no faith in the service provided by the staff at St James’s If this is how the NHS is run now I am terrified of what it will be like when I am in my latter years.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you and your family have had such a distressing time whilst in our care; the level of service that you have described is not what we wish to offer.

The Patient Advice and Liaison Service is here to assist you with any concerns you may have, it is very saddening to read that we have not yet been able to help you. We would very much like the opportunity to investigate the matters that you have in relation to your Grandmothers care and resolve any concerns you may have.

You can contact the Trusts Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful