"Ward 37 Cardiology!"

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital

Having just spent over 1 week on ward 37, it is safe to say I will never go into this hospital again!

Even though many of the nurses try their best every day there is a minority that is obviously only doing the jobs for the wage, I was given the wrong medication more than once! I had my observations recorded wrongly and when I challenged about this I was told that I was wasting NHS money! I witnessed elderly patients left sat in chairs for over twelve hours and then nurses wondering why they had pressure sores! I have always been taught to respect my elders, something I think many staff have not been taught.

I saw blood on the flooring at the side of my bed which was there from friday evening until monday morning! The elderly lady in the bed next to mine soiled herself one evening, her dirty soiled clothes where placed on the floor at the side of her bedside cabinet and when I left the ward 4 days later they where still there!

The doctors on the whole answered questions when asked, all bar one who had an air of arrogance and spoke to me as if I was a child and 'how dare I question them' attitude! I always thought that as a patient the main thing when you are in hospital is to be kept informed and consulted about decisions concerning your treatment.

Finally the food given to patients, I have seen better food fed to animals! it was disgusting slop, I understand why family members are not allowed onto the wards at meal times as if they saw what their family members were being fed they would be disgusted. I used to send photos to my family to see if they could guess what I was being fed! No person could hope to get better off the food in there, I lost over 9lbs in 7 days!

This has to be the worst hospital I have ever been admitted to and I will never be going to it again!

I came out of hospital more confused about my condition than when I went in.

This hospital needs to be looked at carefully as I am sure many patients daily are not recieving the care that should be given when in hospital! and many conditions I am sure are made worse due to this hospital. I am not the only person I am sure is feeling this way as a friend of mine who was on ward 39 recieved had a very, very similar experience!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Andrew Heath, Lead in Patient Experience & Engagement, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Debra

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback about your recent experience.

I am sorry that the experience you have written about was not the positive one we would have wanted you to have had.

I will share your comments with all the teams involved.

If you would like your concerns and issues you have detailed to be fully explored please can you contact the Patient Relations team directly on


so that we can get further details about what happened and ensure that your concerns are fully investigated.

Thank you once more for taking the time to share your experience


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful