"Non Operation"

About: Airedale General Hospital

On June 28 I was supposed to have an operation.

After two hours it transpired that I had been given wrong information at my Pre-Op Assessment.

I was told then to stop my medication one day before the Op when I should have stopped it three days before the Op.This error wasted time for me and, more importantly, for you and the NHS.

My Op has been rescheduled.

Hopefully the person who misinformed me has been told where they went wrong.

All the staff who dealt with me on June 28 were courteous, considerate and efficient.

It's sad that their professionalism was undermined by another's error.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Airedale General Hospital

We are sorry that your surgery had to be rescheduled due to inaccurate information being given to you at your pre-op assessment. We would like to reassure you that we review, learn and change practice from incidents such as this. We are pleased that you found our staff to be courteous, considerate and efficient. We would value the opportunity to discuss your experience in person and encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01535 294019. 1st August 2016

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful