"Knee Ligament Surgery"

About: Aberdeen Royal Infirmary Woodend Hospital

(as a relative),

I am writing this on behalf of my partner.

He was referred for ligament surgery last October, and was due to get a pre-op in December last year. However, in this time we were told he had to go through a cycle of chemotherapy. His chemotherapy finished in February, resulting in the 'all clear' in mid-March this year. He was immediately referred back to his surgeon for his knee following the all clear and was told they would be in touch. Nearly 4 months on, he has heard no word whatsoever. He has phoned and been told on 6 separate occasions that his surgeon would phone him on certain dates, and hasn't had a single phone call.

My partner has already been off work for 2 years now after his motorbike accident. He had a lot of surgery and operations to get to the stage to be able to get his ligaments done, as well as getting & beating cancer in the middle of it all. If he had had his ligament surgery within the 12 weeks from his second referral date, he would have recovered by now and be back at work.

This is completely holding up his life now. He cannot work, cannot earn any money and cannot live properly now until he gets this operation. He is actually losing wages now, as he has not been getting sick pay for over 18 months, and could have actually been back at work earning a wage if this operation was done. As if what we have been through the past two years hasn't been bad enough, we are now being forced to wait for the final piece of the puzzle to be fixed.

It's not really the waiting as such that's the issue, it's the lack of communication. How are we meant to make any future plans when we have no idea what's happening? He hasn't even had any communication regarding his pre-op, never mind the actual surgery. We feel this service is poor, and looks very bad on the NHS. Through the heaps of surgery and appointments he has had to have, this is the only thing we can complain about. We are very close to putting in a formal complaint about this, and know we have a case as his GP is even angry about this treatment.

We are losing money, time, and cannot move forward with life until this is sorted, and we have had not one piece of communication to give us a reason why, or give us even an inkling of an idea to what is happening.

My partner was referred to ARI but is due to get his surgery at Woodend.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Linda Oldroyd, Nurse Consultant, Person Centred Care, NHS Grampian

Dear WG

I am very sorry that the response I thought I had posted below did not appear on the Patient Opinion website. I did however communicate with the service provider and I understand that surgery is now scheduled for this month. I hope your partner has a good outcome and apologies again for the original reponse not appearing. User error on my part I suspect.

Dear WG

I am very sorry to read about the difficulties your partner has been facing. I am also sorry about the problems you have encountered with communication and waiting. I totally understand that it the uncertainty about the future which is the most upsetting thing.

I would be very grateful if your partner was able to contact me directly so that we can look into his case and what has gone wrong. At the very least we should be able to provide you with some information about waiting times and when the surgery is like to be scheduled.

I can be contacted on 01224 567900 or on email at loldroyd@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful