"Aftercare and support"

About: Ninewells Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

The girls in the labouring suit were so supportive funny and kind they made you feel involved in all aspects of decision making and helped you to make informed decisions.

Unfortunately after a very long labour my baby became distressed and I needed to have an emergency c-section. again all staff involved were amazingly supportive and kind and explained each part of the process with care and attention.

Unfortunately when we were moved to the ward after giving birth the staff were not so helpful. The staff were severely understaffed the staff made you get up on your feet and were really condescending and didn't appear to understand the traumatic labour you had just been put through.  I felt they were really rude when my baby wouldn't settle and told me to 'deal with it'.  they offered no support for breast feeding and no support in caring for a newborn, which ultimately lead to me discharging myself against their advice and recovering at home. Which again also lead to me formula feeding due to the lack of support available.

Later on my discharge I noticed that midwives had been signing to say I was happy with breast feeding, confident in bathing my baby and that midwives had checked how my mood was and had supported me through feeding my child all of which was completely untrue. In the future I would definitely be pushing to go to a different health district as I do feel that although the care and staff in the labour ward were fantastic the aftercare and support just wasn't there and for a first time mum I found this really discouraging

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alison Moss, Feedback Manager, NHS Tayside

Thank you for posting on Patient Opinion and for the positive comments you have made about the labour suite, which will be shared with the team.

I am so sorry you had such a poor experience in the ward which has had a terrible impact on you. I hope I can reassure you that your comments have been taken extremely seriously and will be used to improve the care for all women, babies and families. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise unreservedly for the experience you have had.

If you would be willing to share further information to enable us to investigate more fully, please contact Alison Moss, Complaints and Feedback Team Lead on 0800 027 5507 (freephone) or via email to feedback.tayside@nhs.net.

Kind regards.

Justine Craig

Head of Midwifery

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful