"Kingswood Centre Colchester,"

About: North Essex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Poor care when on Hennage Ward.

After care dreadful.

Lack of communication.

My husband was on the above ward with depression.

Very little was done to rehabilitate him, eating and personal care.

After 5 and half months discharged but very little change in his mood.

However nobody bothered to address that maybe the medication was wrong?

He also became incontinent while on the ward, although I had reported this several times nothing was done for 3 months!

He was discharged but not really fit to be at home all he did was sit and sleep all day.

We were promised daily visits every day for the first week and every other day for the second week.

This didn't happen.

The continence team came only to delivery pads and never to be seen again.

The CPN took three weeks to turn up.

It became obvious that his medication wasn't working and since March I have been asking for a drugs review.

I had a meeting on 20 April, the doctor knew nothing of my husband's case and had only been given his notes the day before.

They promised to come back to me by the end of the week.

To date still waiting for the outcome.

Appointments have been made and cancelled.

Meanwhile my husband has had a fall and is in CGH.

The depression is stopping his motivation to his rehabilitation.

I feel seriously let down and frustrated as there is little I can do to help my husband move forward.

I have made a complaint to this organisation, by email, but have not received an acknowledgement.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Essex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust


Thank you for reviewing our services. I am very sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience of NEP’s services – we are very concerned about the issues you have raised and will be investigating them promptly. I will liaise with the complaints team as to progress with your formal complaint.

Should you wish to discuss your concerns further, then please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on nepuft.pals@nhs.net, or 01245 546 433. We will endeavour to provide a comprehensive response to your comment as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Thomas, NEP Communications