"Worcester A & E Dept"

About: Worcestershire Royal Hospital

I was referred to Worcester A & E dept. for a blood test after seeing a Doctor at Kidderminster Hospital on 18th June 2016 who at that time suspected hepatitis a.

On arrival at approx 4.15pm we went to the check in desk with the referral letter from the Doctor, and advised that the computer system was down, after taking all my details we were advised to take a seat in the waiting area. An hour and a half later I still had not been seen so spoke to the check in desk who advised that I had been missed off their list!

Then the fire alarms went off!! There was no immediate instruction from staff, until the Triag nurse made an announcement over the tannoy, which no one could hear, and then came out of their office to announce that it was a false alarm and just said if you see me running follow me!! After a further wait I was called in by the Triag nurse only to be told "we don't really do blood tests here"! Unbelievable, so if not at Worcs then where? and why wasn't I referred there?? After a further wait I was called and possibly dealt with by a Registrar?? Who finally did the blood test in an unprofessional manner.

The instruments where bought over in a disposable sick bowl some of which being dropped on the floor, to assist I was opening some of the sterile packaging, there was no assistance from a nurse.

Blood test taken, and advised the results would be a minimum of 1 hour due to the systems being down, would possibly be longer.

The results finally arrived at about 8.30pm and thankfully were all clear.

The A & E waiting room itself is unwelcoming, hot and depressing, with uncomfortable broken seats, plastic cups and bottles on the floor.

Two TV screens both turned off.

Vending machines selling only unhealthy rubbish and the only one cold drinks was 'out of order'.

Car parking charges and access to the dept appalling, A&E being at the top of a hill with 1 drop of point.

Our visit started at 3.40 at Kidderminster hospital finally arriving home from Worcs A & E at 9.30pm.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worcestershire Royal Hospital

Thank you for leaving your comments. I am sorry to hear you had such a negative experience in our A&E department. I am concerned with some of the issues you have raised, please contact our Patient Services Department on 0300 123 1732 or email wah-tr.PET@nhs.net if you would like us to investigate your concerns or arrange for you to speak to a member of staff about this.

Thank you for sharing the issues experienced in the A&E waiting room, I will make sure your comments are passed onto the department and also facilities.

I would like to reassure you that we take seriously any issues our patients and families raise with us and we value your feedback so thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments.

Kind Regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful