About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

I brought an elderly patient in for consultation a few weeks ago. The hospital was friendly and welcoming and the wait was reasonable and pleasant. However the specialist my friend saw was short and sharp with my friend who was unwell, in discomfort and nervous. I felt really sorry for her. she is mid 80s a well educated but shy woman, with several health issues needing investigation. I agree that she was a little unclear about the reason for the visit, we assumed that there would be a covering GP letter which was not apparent.

The specialist's manner was impatient and baffling. This has been bothering me for age.

I felt that cross the board training in empathy was in order! I appreciate the over load. but my friend left feeling she was a burden and had wasted everyone's time. luckily the lovely nursing and administrative staff helped to relax my friend . My friend is very reluctant to attend further visits.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital.. I would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback. Kind comments such as yours are always gratefully received.

With regards to the concern you have mentioned above, we are very sorry to hear that your experience at night time was the cause of frustration and inconvenience and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you and your friend. In order for us to fully investigate your concerns and address the issues you have raised, we would be grateful if you could contact out PALS department on 01392 402093 so that they can take some further details from you. We hope to hear from you soon so that these matters can be resolved. Once again, we are very sorry for your experience.