About: Charles Clifford Dental Hospital

my wife she been coming for the last three years, she needs gum uplifting for one of her teeth, they keep saying she has to reach about 90% clean or they wont do her surgery, her teeth is so clean and white, she doesnt smoke or drink, she is so clean person, she cleans her teeth 3 times a day but still not enough for them, even when they arrange an appointment for sometimes it takes more than 8 months, last week she had an appintment as usual as i have been coming with her for the last three years as i do the interperting because her english is not that good. anyway my wife get called in to see the doctor it was in the second floor, we approached the doctor my wife sat on that dentist seat, we started talking with the doctor, the doctor said they were going to take some fotos for her teeth, the doctor was nice i was talking to the doctor about how long we been coming and still nothing is happening as she must have a sugery to uplift her gum for that tooth, as we are tired of waiting, the doctor i understand but it, and suddenly another doctor intrept us and said to me sir you can't do the interperting for her an interpeter should do that, i asked the doctor why is that, i am her husband, and i have been doing for the last 3 years and you guys were fine with it also when i go to GPs and everywhere no say anthing about it, the doctor replied this is the hospital policy, i said so what will happen now who is going to do the interperting, the doctor said no one we will cancel the appointment today and make her another one with an interpeter, the doctor humiliated us infront of everyone the staff and the patients who were there, i just couldn't believe it, the doctor did really cancel it and made us another one after 4 weeks. i am still shocked and hurt until now even my wife couldn't believe that when i explained to her and she get upset and said i dont want to go there anymore. i know what ever we do nothing will get done, the management probably don't care otherwise the doctor won't dare to do that to us. people have suggested that i have to challenge them and take it further to news paper and even publish it on the social media websites like facebook snd etc , as this kind of treatment has to stop, as we the ethnic people should get treated like everyone else. this happend on 14.6.16

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Deborah Hopkinson, Patient Experience Co-ordinator, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

I am really sorry to hear about what happened when you came to the Charles Clifford Dental Hosptial on 14 June with your wife. I can appreciate that the issues you have raised have caused upset and dismay to both of you.

We would like to look into this on your behalf and respond to you and I would therefore be grateful if you could contact our Patient Services Team to provide more information so we can take the case up with the staff involved.

Could you therefore contact the team on telephone number 0114 271 2400 or by emailing pst@sth.nhs.uk The team are available between 8:30 and 5 and there is an answerphone where you can leave a message and then somebody will return your call.

Please note I will be escalating your comments to the service immediately so that they are aware of your concerns.

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful