"Horrible experience in Maternity Unit in Newham..."

About: Newham General Hospital

I was suffering from abdominal pain and I visited maternity unit at midnight. They gave me pain killers and told me I got two choices; first I can take more pain killers and go home or I can stay but have to take morfin. Of course I decided to go home but the pain was stronger in the morning I had to come back.I waited 2 hours in the reception, when finally they gave me a bed and do some checks,

I was exhausted from the pain and then I have to wait 3 hours for a doctor to come and see me. The doctor was very good, they said they would do some blood test and book an appointment for a scan to see what cause the pain.They gave me a bed and told me I will stay overnight. And then I haven't seen the doctor again until the next day. Late afternoon a midwife came to check baby heartbeats but couldn't hear anything, bec it was the end of their shift, the midwife left me there alone and said someone will come and check later. Until the evening no one came. When I saw another one asked them if they can check and the midwife said to me there is no point to check if the other midwife couldn't hear bec they might not hear as well. The midwife was keep saying ' what is gonna happen if I can't hear as well, the doctor is not here and I am not going to call them for you, anyway sthe doctor is not gonna come! So you have to wait the morning. The midwife was very rude and I have to fight with them to check on my baby, the midwife said they were busy and went away. After 2 hours the midwife came back and checked and asked me with a disgraceful voice if I am happy. Eventually when the doctor came in the morning they told me they will discharge me bec most probably the pain is just muscle problem and the doctor explained to me how to understand a muscle problem and they told me 'I am explaining to you so you won't come back again', when I asked for the scan the doctor got angry and told it is all booked and I have to wait 4 weeks. I told the doctor I have pain when I urinate,they said it is very normal and then refused to make urine test and the the doctor left I waited 4 hours to discharge. While I was waiting a nurse came to take my blood to do liver test and asked my name when they realised it wasn't my name on the paper, the nurse said they will take my blood anyway and correct the name later and at that moment another midwife came and stopped them! They were all rude and horrible to all new mums. The girl next to me didn't want to take pain killer and the midwife was very angry, they screamed at the girl saying 'so deal with you pain, I am not going to come and help you!' After 4 hours I came home with same pain maybe more stronger and looking for another hospital to swap. On one hand I am very happy to have this experience bec it showed me the service I am going to get in my labour! It is real scary, you can not trust people who shouts and screams at you and it is very important time for you and for your baby so think carefully!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newham General Hospital

We are very sorry to read of your experience during your time in the maternity unit, and of the concerns you have raised here. We are sorry that the staff were rude to you – this is not acceptable and we apologise for this.

We would like to speak with you about the concerns you have raised here so that we are able to understand and investigate what happened. To do this we ask if you could contact us with your personal information and more detail about your visit. Please contact the PALS Team on 020 3594 2040 or by email: pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful