"trying to contact St George's MRI scanning department"

About: St George's Hospital (Tooting) / Older people's healthcare

(as the patient),

My letter for an MRI appointment with contrast, said to let them know asap if you had surgery within the last six weeks. I have and rang them to say it was three days short of the six weeks and as I have a husband with Alzheimers and the family are trying to arrange for him to be looked after, could they tell me if it was still OK to come?

I have been on the phone twice already, but does anyone pick up these messages? I rang just after 9 this morning and again at 11. 30.

I have to go out and cannot do so as my husband is incapable of taking any messages at all.

If it is not alright to go ahead, as the scan is on my neck and I have had a hemithyroidectomy, someone else could be given that appointment. As it is I don't know what to do. Can I expect a phone call?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints, Croydon Health Services NHS Trust

Dear Bunch

I am very sorry to learn that you have encountered problems in clarifying whether you should attend for an MRI scan. Unfortunately, all posts to Patient Opinion are anonymised so I cannot help immediately.

You do mention that this relates to the scanning department at St George's Hospital, in which case you may wish to contact their PALS office on 020 8725 2453.

If your appointment is at Croydon University Hospital, then please contact our PALS office on 020 8401 3210 and we will ensure that you get an answer yto your questions.

  • Bunch thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Update posted by Bunch (the patient)

I got through just after 2pm, confirmed my appointment and got the go ahead over my query, But I have worked in diagnostic radiography all my life and know how busy these departments get and I also know how stressed people get when they are trying to get to a certain department.

Surely an unpaid volunteer could be on hand to man the line and take calls confirming that the patient is keeping the appointment? If any queries come up, as in my case, that volunteer or whoever could then get an answer from a member of staff and then ring the patient back. It is such a little thing, but would mean so much.

Having been on both sides of the fence so to speak and however sensible and knowledgeable you are it is very difficult to avoid getting stressed in this sort of situation

Thank you for listening.

Response from Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints, Croydon Health Services NHS Trust

Dear Bunch

I am pleased that you have finally managed to resolve the problem. However, I am still not sure whether the difficulties you experienced relate to us (Croydon University Hospital) or St George's Hospital. If it was us, please contact our PALS office on 020 8401 3210 or email at ch-tr.pals@nhs.net so that we can take up your concerns with the department.

  • Bunch thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Update posted by Bunch (the patient)

It was St George's MRI department.

Response from Gina Alexander, Director, Care Opinion Scotland, Care Opinion

picture of Gina Alexander

Thanks for this info. We've retagged to St George's and let them know.

Best wishes

Gina

  • Bunch thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Response from St George's Healthcare NHS Trust

We are very sorry that your you had difficulty contacting the MRI department. Good to read that contact has been made since you posted your comments. Anonymous postings are difficult to deal with if assistance is required straight away in future please try contacting the Patient Advice and Liaison Service.

St George's Hospital Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) is available to investigate or feed back comments on services that patients have experienced. By providing PALS with more information on yourself PALS would be able to feed back to the area your dissatisfaction in the service and this can help with communication.

  • Bunch thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too