"Some concerns about visiting bradford royal infirmary"

About: Bradford Royal Infirmary / General surgery

(as a relative),

The hospital is radically lacking in adequate parking.

I brought my wife in for tests. She could not walk and there was nowhere to park to help her out. I had to park on 'no parking'. I then went to get a wheelchair, but none were available. It was 30 mins before one was brought by a porter.

I then tried to find somewhere to park. There were none available and plenty of people trying to find somewhere. 20 mins later gave up and parked on grass. Then went in for tests to be told that this was only initial assessment, and we would have to come back at another time for tests, as the system didn't allow for immediate testing unless patient was admitted no matter how critical.My wife broke down.

I can't help feeling that this lack of flexibility and rigid adherence to the rules will cost lives. Further immediate testing can sometimes be more cost effective, as it prevents the problem developing and becoming more expensive to treat cutting down on the number of appointments.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bradford Royal Infirmary

Dear John, first of I must apologise for the delay in replying - there has been a problem with the site notifying us when someone posts a review, which we have just become aware of.

However I am very concerned to hear about your experience, and would like to apologise sincerely for the distress you and your wife experienced.

At the time you came to BRI, the problem with parking which we are aware of, was made worse by having to necessarily lose some parking spaces because of the building work on the new wing. We do understand how difficult this is for people, and the Estates team are working on providing more spaces. Also, when the building work is complete, spaces that are not available at the moment will be restored, as well as a new drop-off zone, with easy access to wheelchairs and a comfortable waiting area, at the new wing entrance. There are also discussions going on about providing additional parking nearby. I hope that may go some way to reassuring you that we are doing all we can to alleviate the parking problems at BRI.

I am so sorry you had to wait so long for a wheelchair, and for any stress and delay this caused, and that you feel the arrangements for the tests needed were not appropriate.

It would be useful to have some more detail so we can look for possible improvements. If you would like to to contact us, the patient experience manager would be happy to talk to you.The number to contact is 01274364810.

If you call when the office is closed or no-one is available to take your call, please do leave your name and number and we will call you back as soon as possible. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful