"Seacole ward treatment poor never consider going"

About: Springfield University Hospital

I was a patient on secole ward for 5and half months .I regret going very deeply it was hell the treatment was poor therapy you only seen your therapist once a week if you were lucky.When the therapy is difficult they don't re think the module or change any thing .Some staff were rude unhelpful and made jokes about your condition .My life was hell never. Actually get to speak to consultant or doctors .I cannot put into words how bad this place is never ever ever consider going it's a joke my fellow service users agreed with this I could go on and on how bad this place.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jane Healey, Patient Experience Lead, Governance, South West London and St George's Mental Health Trust

Dear Buck, my name is Jane and I am one of the Patient Experience Leads for the Trust. I would like to begin by saying thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our service and would like to apologise that you have not found it to be a positive one.

I have passed your comments onto the Ward Manager, Consultant and Operational Manager for the service and have asked that they provide feedback to this department. If you would like the concerns you have raised to be investigated as a formal complaint then please contact the Patient Experience Team, either by telephone on 0203 513 6150 or by email to complaintsmanager@swlstg-tr.nhs.uk

If you would like any independent support or advice or assistance in making a complaint then please contact the NHS Complaints Advocacy organisation on 0300 330 5454. Their email address is nhscomplaints@voiceability.org and their website is www.nhscomplaintsadvocacy.org

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Victoria Gregory, Patient Experience Manager, South West London and St George's Mental Health NHS Trust

picture of Victoria Gregory

Dear Buck

My name is Victoria and I am the Patient Experience Manager at the Trust. I have been in contact with the service about your posting and thought it might be helpful to outline what it does and this may help you to frame yor complaint if you wish to take this forward. As you posted this anonymously my collegau Jane has given you details on to make contact with us.

The ward treats OCD which is an anxiety disorder which means that people experience OCD often feel worried about things. When someone experiences OCD, worried feelings are taken out of context. Sometimes, it may mean that something that will normally not cause much anxiety actually causes a lot of anxiety.

All patients treated in Seacole have an individual programme which is mutually agreed with them and the team. There is always an agreement with clear expectations of both the patients and the team on what are expected. This individual bespoke programme is reviewed regularly with the patients and the team. If this needs to be changed, this has to be mutually agreed as the patient’s agreement is essential to the progress for recovery. Without their agreement, the treatment cannot be implemented successfully. The agreement stipulates the regularity of the input of therapist which can be once weekly.

The ward also holds daily community meetings to obtain feedback from all patients, in order to ensure joint working and collaboration. All feedback and discussions are seriously considered at these meetings. Agreement is then made on how best to implement necessary changes if appropriate.

There is also a system for real time feedback whereby patients are encouraged to make suggestions. Currently, there is a monthly patient experience surgery which is facilitated by the Trust patient experience lead. This surgery delivers sessions for patients to promote and capture feedback. All feedback is actioned and recorded. The ward has received many compliments from current and ex patients, and also from their carers.

The service which is known for its excellent results with the most profoundly ill patients with extremely refractory conditions. I am sorry that this you were unhappy with your treatment, in general we have positive feedback and good outcomes for the majority of patients so we would like to know more detail from you if could you contact us directly on the contact details given by Jane that would be most helpful.

best wishes

Victoria Gregory.

Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful