About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

Had my first son here in april 2016

I went into labour thursday night and was already well progressed. After having pain relief i was then left in the delivery room being checked every 2 or 3 hours until i delivered friday morning

Anyway when it was time to push i was only allowed to try pushing twice before being told a forceps delivery was necessary.. Would liked to have had the chance to delivery without a very forcing interfering doctor. Nothing was explained apart from baby was distressed literaly within minutes of being fully dilated .Very disheartened. Was then given a cut to which 2 doctors had to sort my stitches out due to the student midwife leaving me half stitched up. Once cleaned up we wasnt able to leave the delivery room until 3pm friday afternoon blazing sun coming through the windows with a newborn laying in the heat.

Postnatal word was disguisting pushing me to breastfeed even though my milk hadnt co e up was up every 2 hours during the night nobody came to check up on us until 8am saturday morning was then discharged as medically fit at 2pm but had to wait until doc signed my prescription numerous excuses later we left the hospital at 11:30pm saturday night without my medication. All excuses the entire day plus meals were far from adequete for new mums we had to order in due to only being able to get a few chips at lunch as not enough was made only vegetarian option was laregly available.

Overall very disappointed with my first time experience of giving birth. Did not enjoy my time there and would most definitly not be going back if i fell pregnant again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Firstly, we would like to apologise for taking so long to respond to your feedback, however, we want to thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We are sorry to hear that your experience with the Women’s Hospital was disappointing and you can be reassured that all the comments you have made have been taken seriously. We are always working hard to improve the care we provide to ensure our patients have the highest quality and it’s disheartening to hear that we did not provide that to you on this occasion. Since you have been a patient, we have been making some improvements in our care to support women in labour, ensure they are given choices and also to provide infant feeding support. We take on board your comments about long waits as well as choice of food and this will feed into our patient advisory council where patients are involved in helping us to improve our services.

Once again, we are very grateful for your feedback and hope that we can restore your faith in our hospital in the future. If you have further feedback or would like to know more about getting involved with our Family and Patient Advisory Council, please email us on connect@bwnft.nhs.uk or ring 0121 627 2747.

Thank you!

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful