"Not the best"

About: Good Hope Hospital

I gave birth as Good Hope in 2015 and had a pretty disappointing experience.

When I arrived at the hospital, I was greeted by a very frosty midwife who examined me and said I was 5cm dilated. I asked for some pain relief and and epidural.

1.5hr later I was still offered absolutely nothing.

I kept asking and the midwife looked at the monitor and said that my contractions didn't appear to be very strong and in fact was I having any at all as the screen suggested they had stopped.

I was in an excruciating amount of pain.

I felt deflated.

15 minutes later I gave birth!!!

The midwife wasn't in the room though, they were due to go home so was outside handing over the the new midwives who came racing into help and went to get a delivery pack as the room wasn't set up.

The original midwife then came in and I said, I told you that I was in pain to which the midwife replied 'No need to speak to me like that' and gave me a dirty look.

I don't get why people with that kind of attitude do the job they do.

The midwives in the postnatal ward were lovely though as were the other staff.

I won't be going back to Good Hope in the future if I have another baby.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Marie Helebert, Patient Services Officer, Patient Services, Heart of England Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for your comments regarding your birth experience at Good Hope Hospital in 2015.

I am sorry to read that you felt you were unsupported by your midwife whilst you were in labour, or that were not provided with any pain relief despite asking. I am concerned to read aspects of your patient experience and would be happy to make some enquiries on your behalf with our Lead Midwife for Patient Experience.

If appropriate, it may be possible to arrange a meeting with a senior midwife who could review your birth experience with you, and possibly identify training issues that could be picked up with individual staff. This may go some way to reassure you that this is not an expected standard of attitude or care from our staff and will be addressed in a pro-active way. This may hopefully assist in rebuilding your trust for reconsideration of using the Maternity Services at Good Hope Hospital in the future.

I would require some information from you to enable me to do this, so would ask if you could contact me at your convenience so we could discuss this in more detail. I can be contacted on 0121 424 0808 or by email: marie.helebert@nhs.net.

I hope this is acceptable and I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Kind regards

Marie Helebert

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful