"Poor experience at Dundee Dental Hospital"

About: Dundee Dental Hospital / Dental

(as the patient),

I recently attended an appointment at Dundee dental hospital and would never return. My dentist referred me as I have a receding gum. After 3 months waiting for an appointment and increasing pain the student I saw seemed disinterested and this was reiterated by the senior professor that entered the room for about 30 seconds at the end of the session.

I explained the amount of pain I was experiencing and notes were taken. I think they took around 12 X-rays and I was sent on my way.

The pain became unbearable and it was discovered I actually had an infection of a nerve and received an emergency root canal a week later at my own surgery. I then received a letter in the post from the hospital saying I just needed a scale and polish which had been signed off by the consultant.

Due to the amount of pain, which I believe was caused by ignorance of the staff and students of Dundee dental hospital, I refuse to go back for treatment and am having to pay for it privately which I cannot afford as I have a disability and have limited income.

My dentist thinks I may need gum surgery which is only carried out at the university and unfortunately due to my experience I cannot contemplate going back there.

Does anyone know if I can be seen by a hospital in a different district? My dentist doesn't know.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alison Moss, Feedback Manager, NHS Tayside

I am extremely sorry to hear you had a poor experience at Dundee Dental Hospital. The Dental Hospital is a teaching environment and we do everything we can to ensure patients have a positive experience when being treated by the students. I am sorry that this was not your experience.

It is important however that we learn from patients’ experiences and share these with the students involved in the episode of care.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please do not hesitate to contact Jo Cameron, Clinical Services Manager for the Dental Hospital on 01382 740984. This will allow us to undertake a full investigation and to agree a suitable way forward for your treatment.


Alison Moss

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful