"Very rude reception staff"

About: Burnley General Hospital

being 6 weeks pregnant with severe nausea and mooting g for 2 days not being able to eat or drink was advised by midwife to attend urgent care centre as may be dehydrated and need admitting when checking in the reception was extremely rude when I explained my situation and told the receptionist that my midwife had told me to attend the receptionist actually laughed out loud and sarcastically replied "it's coz your pregnant" The receptionist made me feel stupid and like I was wasting people's time I was simply following the midwife said se to attend hospital I found the receptionist to be extremely unprofessional and rude there was no need for them to say anything let alone rude remarks!!!!! Cannot complain about the nurses very good care recieved just a rude abrupt receptionist who is clearly is wasted on that desk as they think they are more qualified than the actual nursing staff and can diagnose from the comfort of their desk!!!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Burnley General Hospital

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital and for taking the time to do so.

I am very sorry to hear of your experience and can assure you we do take all comments very seriously.

I will ensure that your comments are brought to the attention of the team, however, if you would like us to investigate the matter further, please could you contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk to provide some further information.

Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting.

Melissa Almond

Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful