"very disappointed"

About: Chorley & South Ribble Hospital

My 84 year old mother had a nasty fall at home and the cut on her head wouldn't stop bleeding.

The ambulance was called, they arrived about an hour later and decided she

needed it to be treated at hospital.

We were then taken to Chorley A & E as there were dealing with minor injuries between 8am and 8pm.

I booked her in at reception and my mother was put in a cubicle waiting to be seen by a nurse or doctor.

The time was 7.45pm.

As we waited we could hear the doctor complaining to nursing staff that my mother should not have been taken there, this was in full hearing distance of us. Not very professional to say the least.

Nobody at Chorley ever came to assess my mothers wound

Next thing the we were put back into an ambulance and taken to Preston A & E.

My mother finally got seen by a doctor at 11.45pm and we were told that the wound would have to be glued.

We then had to wait for a nurse to glue and dress the wound. We left Preston hospital at 12.45pm.

We then had to arrange for a family member to collect us.

This procedure could have been carried out at Chorley A & E if that doctor on duty had taken the time to look at my mother head. It was obviously getting close to the A & E department closing and they couldn't be bothered in my opinion.

The A & E department was empty at the time.

Very disappointed by the attitude of the doctor on duty at the time.

Nobody deserves to be treated like that, I was just glad I was with my 84 year old mother at the time.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rhona Hartley, Head of Patient Experience and Customer Care, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and for telling us of your mother's experience. We were so sorry to read your comments and to hear that your mother did not receive the care she received in a timely manner. Your comments have been shared with the relevant senior medical staff and managers; however, should you feel it would be helpful to discuss the issues you have raised in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care department on 01772 522521

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful