About: Russells Hall Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

I was diagnosed back in 2014, I had an ectopic August 2011 in that time frame I was backwards and forewards to the doctors and hospital complaining of severe abdominal pain to the point I could hardly walk or get myself up off the floor every doctor I saw pushed me aside until I said I was struggling to conceive at that point they sent me for a hsg. Whilst having the hsg I ended up with a reaction which turned my skin yellow, made me really poorly and knocked me off my feet for 3 days the hospital who did it sent me home the same day.

I was then sent for a surgery with mr morsi to unblock my remaining Fallopian tube in which he also found endometriosis. Endometriosis was removed via excision, my ovary was unstuck from my bowels and my Fallopian tube was unblocked. Recovery was awful I never felt any relief what so ever. Went back to my GP took me well over a year of fighting to be seen again finally went back to mr Morsi in December in which he did another laparoscopy and found more endo.

The level of care I've had with mr Morsi is unbelievable, has kept in contact with me and has helped me every step of the way he really is a truly amazing gynae.

However I think my care at Russell's hall day unit was horrendous, within an hour and half of me having surgery I was made to get dressed and untie a bag off my bed by myself with no help after me asking for help. I felt I was rushed too quick to get myself back up and on the go like nothing had happened the hour before I was extremely sore and tired yet I had no help. Had to ask 3-4 times for a drink of water after them telling me I needed to urinate 100ml before I left which I couldn't do because I didn't have enough to drink. 

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience. We would like to assure you that we take all feedback seriously and act up on it as part of our on-going commitment to patient experience.

It is good to hear that you were so pleased with the care you received from Mr Morsi; however, it is disappointing that you feel these same high standards were not present during your time on our Day Surgery Unit.

We would never want our patients to feel rushed or unsupported in their recovery, especially after they have undergone surgery, and so we must apologise that this was your experience.

Making sure our patients have enough to drink is really important and we are very sorry you had to ask on repeated occasions for some water.

We have passed your comments on to the lead nurse for Day Surgery who has shared the issues you have raised with her team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful