"Bad Experience"

About: Princess Anne Hospital

I was very nervous as i was in for induction, i have to say that the midwife was lovely but as my labour was not progressing i had to be examined many times, i was in pain but was not dilating, the midwife i saw at night was awful, after my examination i was in so much pain that i had to take gas and air and they still sent my husband home and sent me to a maternity ward. I started having back labour every ten minutes and could not sleep at all or rest and was asking to go back down to labour ward which was not allowed, This should of been my decision and to have my husband stay. At 7am my husband had come in and we was waiting till 10am to get back to induction ward. I was only still 1cm dilated. That midwife was lovely and without causing me any pain broke u water, i start having worse contractions and they were all in my back still. I was taken to a birthing room at 3oclock. I was in so much pain and had to be given the drip. I had an epidural, the staff was lovely but i felt little twinges even after the epidural, i was certain it was baby pushing and she would not examine me untill a certain time. ridiculous. I was already worried as babys heartbeat kept dropping. At 12 at midnight the heartbeat dropped to much and they finally checked and i was dilated. Seriously checking me after that many hours when i said i felt something? I had to have forceps as i could not push baby out. After having my baby the midwife did not really help baby latch on to feed so they gave formula. I stayed in the maternity ward for 3 nights and it was awful, such a shortage on staff. I really struggled feeding and no one helped me leaving me doubting myself and having to use formula. I had such a hard few months but i finally managed to just breastfeed and still am after 9 months. I was buzzing for one hr when my baby was crying and i needed help, this is disgraceful. This should be a women s best time in her life and i felt as if it was ruined as there was no help from staff leaving me feeling so hopeless. I really do think the hospital as a shortage on staff and they need to make new moms feel a bit more at ease. On a brighter note this has really inspired me to become a maternity assistant to i can help moms in the beginning days of having a baby

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Anne Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the service you received when you had your baby nine months ago.

It was however, disappointing to read about your experience of maternity services at the Princess Anne Hospital.

Staff always strive to deliver the best service to all their mothers along with encouraging them to breast feed, so it is sad to read that you did not feel well supported.

It is good to know that your experience has inspired you to become a maternity assistant so that you can help new mothers, that is a very positive outcome.

If you wanted to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact patient support services on 023 8120 6325.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful