"I feel let down"

About: New Victoria Hospital / Day surgery

(as the patient),

This is about not seeing the consultant and having a registrar who doesn't have all your info.

I went to my rescheduled appointment to see my Breast surgeon only to taken late by a registrar who took only a minute to check my left breast and did not bother checking the scar on the right side. The registrar told to make an appointment for a years time and that I wouldn't need a mammogram. I asked about the breast reduction I was told last year. The registrar said I would need to get my body mass down to 30 and even at that I should level out. Since I had taken off 2 stone from the first time I had cancer and I was still the same bra size. I feel that I have been let down as I have been waiting over a year hoping that I would be getting my breast reduction.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear Scotslass57

Thank you for taking the time to post on Patient Opinion. Firstly, I would like to say well done on such a significant weight loss following your battle with cancer, it is not an easy thing to do at all. I am sorry that you feel you have been let down by the day surgery service at the New Victoria Hospital, this is not how we want any patient to feel. I am also sorry for the way in which you have been communicated to. I fully appreciate that if you had been given a better explanation to all of the questions you have asked here then you would not feel as let down as you do.

I understand how disappointed you will feel when it seems like things are not moving forward for you in terms of your breast reduction, especially when you have clearly put lots of time and effort into preparing for this. Again, a more thorough explanation of what the next steps are for you would have been really helpful, but you are absolutely entitled to ask for a second opinion about this and receive more information if you require it. I understand the doctor you seen at this most recent appointment was not your regular consultant, so it might help you to contact your named consultant to talk through options and see how you can take this forward. I would hope that this would get you some of the answers to the concerns you raised here and provide you with a clearer idea of your treatment going forward.

I wish you all the best with this.


  • Scotslass57 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too