"Delay in treatment"

About: Raigmore Hospital / General Medicine

(as the patient),

Have had an infection for a year now. Have had almost continuous antibiotics in that year and no further ahead in fighting it. Its ruining my life. I asked several weeks ago for a referral to another Consultant who appears to have more experience with this particular strain of infection. No disrespect intended towards current Consultant. Over a month after requesting this and to be told the referral was done it transpires the Consultant merely asked for further advice. So now further delays. I am seeking funding to go outside of the UK for treatment as feel I am not being taken seriously here and have no where to turn. Incredibly frustrating and stressful. My job is also at stake because of this. I could lose everything so to waste precious time is disheartening.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from katherine sutton, Deputy Director of Operations, NHS Highland

I am really sorry to hear that you have not received the response you were expecting from the service.

If you wish, contact me by telephone on 01463 705087 and I will look into your situation for you.

Katherine Sutton

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful