"Just avoid this hospital if you can!"

About: St James's University Hospital

I have seen some terrible customer / patient care in my time but my experience at this hospital has to be one of the worst. If I had visited in a very ill state or suffered a life threatening illness, I would have hated (and refused) to have spoken, dealt or been taken care of by this hospital's staff. The service from an unwelcoming reception staff to a disorganised, unfriendly, unhelpful and frankly rude "care" staff. I am asking my doctors to refer me to a different hospital as I do not wish to return to this establishment. It does the NHS no favours, does not help its reputation and does little for its credibility. We are all under stress and busy, some more than others but this is no excuse in any circumstances for the ridiculous attitude of this hospital's staff.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Eva F

Thank you for taking the time out to write to us regarding your experience while attending St James Hospital, I was very sorry to read of the poor experience you feel you had whilst in our care and I would like to apologize that we did not deliver care that met your expectations.

Unfortunately as we do not have any demographic details for yourself or information regarding which part of the hospital you visited we are unable to investigate your concerns therefore, I would as that you contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS), this would also allow us to look into the matters you have raised in further detail.

Please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2066261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

With kind regards
Senior Nurse
Patient Experience